Thank you, dear readers

My life has certainly changed since my mother suffered a stroke. She lived through it and is now in a nursing home. She lost use of the right side of her body: she can’t walk or talk. However, she is responding well to therapy and retained her ability to swallow.

My time is divided between work and the nursing home, which is about 20 minutes from my home. I’ve missed blogging as well as having some free time to experiment with all the wonderful fabrics and fibers out there. I gave some thought to retiring Fembellish Journal, but I’m not willing to take that step just yet. I hope to carve out a little time here and there to continue working on tutorials, just at a slower pace than before.

I want to thank all of you who wrote me and left comments concerning my mother. Each one meant so much to me. For the first few weeks while my mother was in the hospital, I would come home late at night and read your comforting words. They really lifted my spirit.

I also want to thank Tami at Lemon Tree Tales and Eefje Kaasjager for the Nice Matters Award. You are both so kind to consider me worthy of the award, and I’m pleased that you enjoy the blog.

At present, I’m not able to personally answer your emails or answer questions within comments. I hope you can understand that my plate is full at the moment and time simply doesn’t permit it.

I hope all of you are exploring, creating, and honing your skills. I look forward to doing the same again soon.

Blessings, Rene

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Time Treasured

16 Comments

  1. Corina said,

    September 23, 2007 at 2:59 am

    I know you do not have time and energy for us, I just want you to know we think of you!

  2. Nancy Jo Hill said,

    September 23, 2007 at 9:49 am

    I am sorry to hear about your Mother. My Mother broke her hip on the 16th of august getting out of m car and passed n the 31th of August. I understand your life.
    don’t worry about us, we will be here when you get back an right now your Mother is the most important thing in your life.
    Hugs
    NJ

  3. Linda said,

    September 23, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Oh, be still my beating heart…I am just elated that your Mom survived the stroke and that she is progressing with therapy. My mom is 87, lives with me, and has similar health issues, so I do empathize with you. If you are able to continue with Fembellish Journal, I and hundreds of others will be forever grateful, but if you cannot, we all understand you limits. I have missed you and our almost daily meetings on the internet. You have touched me in a very special way, to encourage me to do more, and not stay in my safe zone. Thank you for all you are to SO many people on the planet. Linda

  4. Patricia Fairbairn said,

    September 23, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Please reconsider quitting the Fembellish Journal. It may seem right now that it’s just another matter to deal with, but I have found that when dealing with depressive times, I need an outlet to bury myself in to help me get a little rest from the depression. It seems this journal is something you love to do (and are SO good at) that this could be your outlet to escape to occasionally. I have found if I allow myself to escape from my problems by doing something I enjoy, it helps strengthen me for the next round. I am disabled, just found I have breast cancer and digging in to my art work is what saves me mentally. I am so sorry you are going through this and wish you and your mother all the best and will keep you in my prayers. You deserve to take care of yourself and go with what you feel is best for you.

  5. Christine said,

    September 23, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Rene, ditto what Corina said, but also there are many of us out there who have been down the road you are walking. All I can offer is that believe it or not, these times when you feel torn in two, that you can’t keep this up, that there is only one of you will be times that you will treasure in the future. Because they will mean that you were there for your Mom when she needed and wanted you. That you spent every moment you could handle doing with her and for her. Cherish this time. (And forget about us!!!)

  6. Sandy said,

    September 23, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    My thoughts have been with you. I went through it with my mother. Family should come first, but be sure to take care of yourself too. We understand that your life is very busy now. Sandy

  7. AnnNicol Smith said,

    September 24, 2007 at 2:27 am

    I’d just found you when your sad happening occured. With immemse joy I might add.
    It’s sad when things like this happen to those you love, especially when they have been so clever. My father is in a nursing home becaues he’s lost the plot and he could do anything. Please don’t give up on your marvellous blog. Just live with it.
    LOL
    Ann

  8. Ann Rapice said,

    September 24, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    My thoughts are with you and hope that your mom improves daily. Thanks for all the wonderful things you have shown us. Yesterday, I finished embellishing a quilt with the little flowers you last showed on Fembellish. I also made some into butterflies!! Your work is fabulous and always inspiring. You and your family are in my prayers. Please don’t close down Fembellish! We will wait patiently for you. Keep us posted on your mom’s progress!

  9. September 25, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Don’t worry about writing tutorials any time soon. Take the time that you need to get your family in order. We’ll be here whenever you get back. In the meantime we’re all thinking good thoughts for you and yours.

    –Tami

  10. Waltraud said,

    September 25, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Wish you and your mother all the best and take care of you!

  11. Mary said,

    September 26, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Take careof yourself as you take care of your mother and those of us who enjoy your work and writing will be here when you get a chance to post….
    my thoughts and prayers are with you…
    Mary in San Diego

  12. Nathalie.L said,

    September 26, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    Ne vous arrêtez pas, nous vous attendrons le temps qu’il faudra. Soyez certaine que nous pensons très fort à vous.

  13. Brenda C said,

    September 28, 2007 at 7:18 am

    Thinking of you during this tough season in your life. Our thoughts and prayers are with you.

    The test in life’s trials are what you do with them.

    Take time for yourself so that you can give when you need to. Do something you love. Enjoy some creative time and your mind wander from the stressful things that are foremost in your thoughts…

    Press in and press on…we’ll all be here when you get back!

  14. ryo said,

    October 1, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Hope that your mother will soon recover and may god bless her.

    Regards

  15. Belém said,

    October 8, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Now your mother should come first. I was very touched to see her with a embroidery hoop on your previous post. I imagine those are very hard days and I wish the best for your mother, you and your family. Take care.

  16. October 11, 2007 at 4:08 am

    Rene,
    So sorry to hear about what happened. It will be difficult for you to find some time for yourself, but you must remember that you need to have an outlet to just ” think of something else”. I hope you will be able to stop every now and again and get lost in blogland a little,or in your creations, as all this worry and daily travel will really tire you down. Take care.


Leave a Reply

