Fabrications – Heliocentricities (part four)

The second leaf I crafted was the largest of the four. I began by cutting a circle from a very sheer print (either nylon or polyester) and placing it in my 7″ embroidery hoop. I cut a strip of variegated “Harvest” organza ribbon (1 1/2″ wide), lightly sprayed the back with 505, and positioned it on the sheer background fabric.

Hooped Sheer Fabric

I continued cutting strips of ribbon and placing them in the hoop until the center was completely covered.

Organza Ribbon Strips

Next, I set up my sewing machine for free motion work, dropping the feed dogs and attaching a closed free motion foot. For my top thread, I chose Superior Halo #369. Halo is a thick decorative thread for bobbin or serger work , but it can also be used as an upper thread if you insert a large-eyed needle such as a jeans/denim #100/16, loosen your upper tension, and sew at a slow speed.

Using a simple meandering stitch, I free motion stitched the entire ribbon area.

Superior Halo Thread

Meandering Free Motion Work

This time I transferred the leaf outline to the fabric by tracing around a template with chalk. Contact paper would have worked just as well, but sometimes I like to mix things up a little.

Chalk Outline

With the same thread and machine settings, I free motion stitched the chalk outline. I made about eight passes in order to build up the thread.

Stitched Leaf Outline

I then cut around the thread outline with my nice sharp craft scissors and finished the edges with a heat tool (see previous post).

Edges Finished with Heat Tool

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasure

3 Comments

  1. July 3, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    What a great technique! This would be perfect for wings. Now is the heat tool similar to a wood-burning tool? Or is it specifically made for fiber and crafts?

  2. aarthi said,

    July 19, 2007 at 6:49 am

    hi, i am doing my diploma in apparel technology, so i wish to do project on embroidery, i do not have any idea, plz help me by giving your idea.

  3. November 18, 2008 at 3:56 am

    […] Laub – Teil 1 – Teil 2 – Teil 3 – Teil […]


Leave a Reply

