Fabrications – Heliocentricities (part two)

I received an email from a reader asking whether Setacolor Transparent fabric paint was the only paint one can use for sun painting. I have always used Setacolor Transparent since it works so well and is available both online and in art stores. Additionally, Setacolor is a quality product that can be used with numerous fabric painting techniques. However, Jacquard Textile Paint and Dye-na-Flow are also reported to work with this technique.

The question piqued my curiosity, so I took out the other brands of fabric paint and returned to the picnic table where I usually do my sun painting. Wouldn’t you know it, the minute my brush touched the fabric, I heard thunder and felt raindrops. I transported my two pieces to the gazebo and there they sit as I write.

Jacquard Textile Paint with Wood Cut Dragonfly

Dye-na-Flow with String

So I would like to put the question out to all of my readers. What fabric paints do you use for sun painting? Please take a moment to comment if you have the time.

When sun painting, the design possibilities are virtually endless. I once made a photo transfer baby pillow using foam alphabet letters for the child’s name.

Sun Painted Letters

Here’s a list of other items you might like to try on your painted fabrics:

pasta shapes
toothpicks
paper clips of various shapes and sizes
rubber bands
yarn, thread, string
rice
wood shapes
foam shapes
lace, lace doilies
keys
dry cereal
sequins
hair pins
buttons
bottle caps
wire mesh
cheese cloth
netting
flowers and leaves
feathers
cut paper shapes
stickers
die-cut shapes
washers
nails

As you walk around your home, garage, and yard, you’ll probably find lots of items you can add to this list. Additionally, keep your eyes open next time you visit your favorite craft, hardware, or office supply store. Their isles hold countless treasures for the alert fiber artist.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

4 Comments

  1. Vicki said,

    June 28, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    Coincidentally I just did some sun printing testing with Setacolor and Dye-Na-Flow – here’s a link – hope this helps
    http://vickiwelsh.typepad.com/field_trips_in_fiber/2007/06/more_sunprintin.html

  2. fembellish said,

    June 28, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Thanks, Vicki. Your post on sun painting is very detailed and helpful.

  3. Jacqueline said,

    June 30, 2007 at 11:04 am

    What a great post Rene, I have to take my time to read it again, when we are finally free from all this rain…it looks like fun to try this.

  4. Carol said,

    August 25, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    thanks for your post — what about dying the fabric first — then doing the sun printing so that instead of white — you have a colored image??


Leave a Reply

