Quick Tips – How to Knit on the Go

I knit all year long and like to carry my projects with me for appointments, when I travel , etc. I’ve tried several methods of keeping my yarns neat, tidy, and convenient all at the same time and found that an empty 5 quart plastic ice cream container works best.

I usually work with more than one yarn at a time, so the ice cream container supplies plenty of room for my multiple balls or skeins. Using a regular hole punch, I created three holes at the outer edges of the top, separating them equally. The yarns flow freely from each hole and never tangle. The container already has a carrying handle, so I’m good to go at all times.

Of course, I had to embellish the container, so I pasted a pretty floral picture over the “Vanilla” imprint.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

3 Comments

  1. Kim said,

    June 11, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    How cool – and what fun if you have to have another bucket to use (love vanilla ice cream!!)

  2. June 12, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    I am a knitter. I have not done it in over a year. I am just too busy to do it much. However, I like your suggestion as far as how best to do it. I like the vanilla ice cream more.

  3. June 14, 2007 at 1:48 am

    SMART. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

