Tips – How to Secure Bobbin Threads

Happy Mother’s Day! I plan on spending a wonderful extended weekend surrounded by my children and grandchildren. If you read some of my previous posts, you know that I was blessed with two grandsons in March and April. I made photo transfer gift pillows this week to commemorate their births, which I will be giving to my children on Sunday.

Additionally, I created the little pink flower in the opening photo and will share the directions with you next week.

While working on the embroidery for the pillows, it came to me that some of you may like to try my method for securing those pesky thread ends on your bobbins. You can obtain products commercially that accomplish the same result, but I have a lot of bobbins to secure, so cost would be a factor.

Instead, I purchase a length of clear tubing at the hardware store. You can take a bobbin sample with you to make sure you buy the correct size. (I believe mine is about 3/8″ circumference.)

With a pair of heavy duty kitchen or utility shears, cut pieces of tubing the interior width of your bobbin. Next, cut through the circle to create an opening.

Simply slip the tubes around your bobbins and thread tails will be a thing of the past.

Blessings to you and have a wonderful weekend.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

15 Comments

  1. Corina said,

    May 12, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Great gifts! I wish you a great weekend!

  2. Clothmatters said,

    May 12, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    I like your tubing suggestions for those pesky bobbin threads. I will certainly give it a try.

  3. emmaemmeline said,

    May 12, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Brilliant idea for stopping those bobbins from unravelling. Have a lovely weekend..

  4. Angela said,

    May 12, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    What a fantastic idea! Thanks for the tip!

  5. Silvanos said,

    May 21, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    Nice idea!

  6. Dmitris said,

    May 22, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Cool.

  7. Ambrosios said,

    June 10, 2007 at 9:02 am

    Nice!

  8. Samaras said,

    June 10, 2007 at 11:56 am

    Cool idea.

  9. Simos said,

    June 10, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    Interesting

  10. Achilles said,

    June 14, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    Nice…

  11. LeOgAhEr said,

    June 22, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    I Love it
    Bay

  12. Vasilios said,

    July 4, 2007 at 5:40 am

    Cool!

  13. Michalis said,

    July 8, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Cool.

  14. Skyros said,

    July 9, 2007 at 6:22 am

    Nice…

  15. Wanda said,

    June 26, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Hi,
    thank you for the wise, practical advice, I’m so happy that there are wonderful friendly people who help so from the heart!
    many health,
    Thanks,
    Hugs, Wanda


Leave a Reply

