Fabrications – In Bloom Two (part three)

While shopping in a local craft store, I noticed these plastic shapes with raised surfaces.

I believe they’re used to create imitation stained glass. I purchased a few of them and found them to work quite well as rubbing plates with Shiva Paintstiks.

Using the same Kona cotton fabric as used in part two (prewashed), I rubbed the flower design onto the surface using a white Shiva Paintstik. After allowing it to dry and giving it a gentle wash (see part two), I set up my sewing machine with white rayon thread and lowered the feed dogs.

I then did a free motion outline stitch around the smaller flowers and filled in the centers.

Next, I attached the Bernina Free Motion Couching Foot and couched a #4 cotton around the larger flower. This could also be done by winding the heavy #4 cotton onto a bobbin and stitching the design from the back side of the fabric.

This simple design resulted in a beautiful embellishment that took very little time to create.

For the dragonfly, I decided to stipple his wings and thread paint his body. I began with the wings.

Then I filled in his lower body with a brown cotton embroidery thread. Next, I filled in his head with Holoshimmer.

Finally, I outlined his body with gold Holoshimmer.

Shiva Paintstiks made the transfer of the shapes simple and quick. Once on fabric, there were many things I could have chosen to do with each design. I hope you’ll do a little experimentation and enjoy the versatility that these paintstiks offer in the studio.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

6 Comments

  1. Kay Susan said,

    April 19, 2007 at 4:24 am

    That’s a really neat idea. You could do with also with rubber stamps.

    I’m really enjoying following your blog!

  2. April 19, 2007 at 7:30 am

    I look forward to your blog everyday.. you are so prolific with your art… Do you ever sleep? Thank you for helping me ( a fairly new fabric artist?) to learn so many techniques. You have a wonderful blog!!!!

  3. Corina said,

    April 19, 2007 at 11:19 am

    This is my way to thank you for all the great work you are doing.
    http://corinaj.wordpress.com/

  4. fembellish said,

    April 19, 2007 at 11:35 am

    Thanks to all of you for your kind words of encouragement. Corina, I left a comment at your blog after reading the post regarding Fembellish Journal. You are so sweet to show your appreciation in this way and I love your garden quilt!!

  5. Waltraud said,

    April 19, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Wonderful! I can learn so much. Thank you.

  6. June 3, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    […] Fembellish also has a few nice tutorials and projects demonstrating how to use paintstiks – Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3. […]


Leave a Reply

