Fabrications – In Bloom One (part two)

Before I get to the second part of the project, I was asked about scrim by one of my readers. Scrim is a lightweight gauzelike fabric made of cotton or flax. Owing to its airy nature, it’s often used in the construction of draperies. That being the case, the best place to find it is in stores that sell home decor fabrics, such as Hancocks. The scrim I use is 100% cotton and can be dyed, painted, and stitched. Medical gauze resembles scrim but is more loosely woven. Both scrim and gauze can be used creatively in fiber art projects.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now, on to part two of In Bloom. This is one of those projects that I could have been stopped at an earlier stage and called complete. However, I wanted to take it further and add texture to the flowers and some thread embellishment around the scrim squares.

To give the flowers dimension, I took some leftover painted Carriff stabilizer and cut it into little snippets.

I then dusted the base flowers with Bo-Nash 007 Bonding Agent and sprinkled the snippets onto the surfaces. Bo-Nash is a granular fusing agent. It leaves your fabric soft and can be sewn, washed, and dry cleaned.

Using a Teflon pressing sheet and an iron set on wool, I pressed the flowers for about 5 seconds.

Fused snippets; base flower before fusing

Next, I prepared my sewing machine for free motion embroidery and threaded the needle with a matching rayon thread. I used two different motifs to give the flowers definition.

For the two leaves, I threaded the machine with dark green Holoshimmer. Moving at a slow speed, I detailed the leaves with veins.

When using Holoshimmer, loosen your top tension, lengthen your stitches, and use an embroidery or topstitching needle. Also, use a thread net on your spool if the Holoshimmer needs taming.

With the same green Holoshimmer, I worked a free motion buttonhole stitch through the center and around the outside of the squares.

When I completed the buttonhole stitches, I rethreaded the machine with a pink Glitter Hologram thread by Superior. This time I retraced the previous path with a free motion zig zag stitch, using a stitch width of 3.5 mm.

I recently purchased a bottle of Liquitex Glass Beads, a painting medium that contains micro beads, that I wanted to use with this project. In a plastic container, I mixed a small amount of glass beads, a tiny amount of Pearl Ex gold powdered pigment, and a few drops of Liquitex medium viscosity cadmium yellow acrylic paint.

Using a stiff paintbrush, I painted the center of the flowers with this mixture and then set the project aside to dry. As a final embellishment, I sewed glass beads around each of the flower centers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

4 Comments

  1. Waltraud said,

    April 14, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    Thank you for showing these techniques!

  2. maureenc said,

    June 8, 2007 at 6:18 am

    I won’t describe the long journey to your blog……….but I’m soooo glad I did!
    I have bookmarked BIG TIME for further use.
    Thank-you!

  3. fembellish said,

    June 8, 2007 at 8:19 am

    So glad you found the blog!

  4. April 4, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    I am SO glad I found your blog. You do the kind of work I would love to do! I want my product to look realistic — while I appreciate abstract images, I just cannot get interested enough to produce an abstract! Your techniques, the way you explain, the photos – superb! Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge.


Leave a Reply

