A day of tactile pleasure

Greetings from beautiful Charlotte North Carolina! I’m on a buying trip this week and experienced the pure joy of spending the entire day at Mary Jo’s Cloth Store yesterday. Mary Jo’s is so large that it takes a whole day to work your way through all the fabrics. I spent most of my time looking at (and buying) silks – silk organza, silk charmeuse, china silk, and hand dyed silks. So many projects run through my mind as I touch these luxurious fabrics.

Before I left, I was working on a project with the April/May Project Spectrum colors of pink, yellow, and green.  I should have the tutorial posted in the next few days. I hope you are all busy with new and wonderful fiber art projects of your own.

I want to thank you again for all your kind, encouraging,and inspiring comments. They each mean so much to me and definitely energize my work in the studio.   As much as I love shopping for new fabrics and fibers, I can’t wait to get home and back to work.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West

Time Treasured – Making time for the things you love

4 Comments

  1. Corina said,

    April 11, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    I envy you, but I hope you had a great day! I just wait for all the new tutorials, I love your work and I am going to write an article about you on my blog (of my group blog).

  2. fembellish said,

    April 14, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    Thank you so much, Corina. I’m thrilled that you enjoy the blog and tutorials.

  3. Linda said,

    July 9, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Rene,
    Do you also know about the great thread place in Gastonia about 2 miles from Mary Jo’s? Go to http://www.longcreekmills.com and check out their stuff and great prices.
    Linda k

  4. fembellish said,

    July 9, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Linda,
    Yes, I’ve been to Long Creek Mills and they do indeed have low prices. I purchased a good supply of embroidery thread there about a year ago. Thanks for mentioning it so that others can follow the link.


Leave a Reply

