Fiber Folio – A Yarn’s Life

Yarn

I found these skeins of spun wool roving at the store last week. With a name like “Felt It,” I knew I had to take them home with me. I immediately saw their potential as detail yarns in needle felting projects, but I knew they would surprise me with many other talents as well.

Recently, I had been looking at all those old quilt stencils hanging on the back of the studio door. If you’ve been quilting for any amount of time, you probably have a collection of them yourself. So I took a few off the rack and decided to put them to work.

Stencil

First, I cut two pieces of 100% wool fabric that had already been through the fulling process in my washing machine. Taking the first stencil and a #2 pencil, I lightly outlined the design onto the wool.

Felted Stencil Design

Next, I took the “Wildflowers” yarn and needle felted it along the outline with the Babylock Embellisher.

Machine Stitch

The felted design looked rather nice just as it was, but I wanted to play with it a little more. I chose a decorative stitch (#113 on the Bernina Aurora 440 QE) and stitched around the felted outline, using a royal blue 40 wt. matte embroidery thread. What a dramatic difference that made! Not quite ready to call it a day, I then took some Czech glass beads and attach them to the outline by machine.

Bead Work

Attaching beads by machine can be a little tricky at first. For this project, I set my machine on a blanket stitch (the stitch often used around appliques) and counted four left swings of the needle, setting my bead inside the presser foot (a Babylock braiding foot) at the beginning of the fifth swing. Using my right hand to turn the wheel, I carefully guided the needle into the hole of the bead and back to the right again and continued this way until I had completed the full design. I could have chosen to attach the beads by hand, but I thought the blanket stitch might work well with this particular design.

I was pleased that I had found a secondary use for the quilting stencils. Although I worked on wool yardage, the process would be the same on the surface of a quilt. Such wonderful textures can be created playing around with this technique.

Knitted Scarf

With quite a bit of the skein left, this yarn still had work to do. I paired it up with a furry little novelty yarn that matched perfectly and began knitting a scarf. It was pure pleasure.

(to be continued)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

5 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    February 26, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    Another awesome use of your embellisher. I have got to get me one!! love your blog. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful ideas.

  2. Micki said,

    February 26, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    I love how you did this. That yarn looks yummy. Thanks for sharing.

  3. fembellish said,

    February 26, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying the blog. Your encouraging words are greatly appreciated.

  4. Terri said,

    February 26, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Great project! I am seriously looking at buying this Bernina model and I’d love to hear any comments you may have about it (likes, dislikes, must-have accessories, etc.).

  5. Pamela said,

    November 22, 2007 at 9:59 pm

    Embellisher under the Christmas Tree waiting patiently — I don’t know what I will try first, this or the Sand Dollar — you are awesome!!!


Leave a Reply

