Fabrications – Furry little meanderings

One of my favorite Bernina feet is the Freemotion Couching Foot (#43). Various yarns and fibers can be threaded through the small opening on one side of the foot and then couched with any thread that can go through the eye of a sewing machine needle. This foot is a virtual playground for embellishers.

Meandering

For this example, I cut a piece of fabric and layered it with stabilizer that I attached using a basting spray. I chose a Fun Fur eyelash fiber with long variegations of about 160 inches. Beginning in one corner, I simply meandered my way around until the whole piece was covered with the furry fiber.

Threading the foot

Next, I changed to a metallic needle and threaded my machine with red Superior Halo. I attached my walking foot along with the seam guide and worked across the surface in a crosshatch pattern. This resulted in a unique and colorful piece of embellished fabric ready for another project.

Needles and Halo thread

If you have this attachment and haven’t used it, you’re in store for a whole new world of creativity.

Crosshatch

Crosshatch pattern with Halo thread

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

4 Comments

  1. Elaine said,

    February 8, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Oh I was so happy to see someone using the couching foot! Mine is still in it’s little box along with the felting foot. I think i will steal away and try it finally. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. fembellish said,

    February 9, 2007 at 8:42 am

    The first time I saw this foot I knew I had to have it. It’s so unique in what it does, adding one more dimension to fiber art projects. Thanks for commenting. Also, take that felting foot out of the box and give it a whirl. I look forward to seeing what you create with these two attachments.

  3. Elaine said,

    February 10, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    Ooh I finally used it today! I may never leave my house again! What a BLAST!

  4. fembellish said,

    February 10, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Elaine, I would love to see what you do with it. Will you be posting pictures on your blog? I hope so.


Leave a Reply

