Quilts – Like the Stars (part 3)

With my printout from EQ5 always within visual range, I began piecing the squares, triangles, and diamonds. Beginning at the top left, I worked row by row, keeping each completed section in sewing order. Next, I sewed the rows together.

Storm at Sea involves lots of point matching. I confess, I’m a bit of a perfectionist so close isn’t good enough. I want every point eyeball to eyeball with its adjoining neighbor. I’ve read many tips for accomplishing this, but none of them worked 100% of the time. So I gave it some thought and came up with a method that works for me.

Using a thin bamboo skewer, I dab a tiny bit of Glue Pins (Sullivans) or similar water soluble product on the seam allowance (right side) of the point I want to match. I take the second point and finger press the two points right sides together just as I would have if I were using pins. Pinching the seam allowances together with my fingers, I do a quick visual check on the right side to make sure the points are perfectly matched.

Sew the 1/4 inch seam as usual, sewing one thread outside the intersection of your previous piecing where the points come together. If you sew through the intersection rather than one thread outside of it, your points will be cut off at the tip. The roll of the fabric requires this slight allowance for your points to look sharp. And there you have it.

Like the Stars Quilt

When I continue, I’ll share a little about the digitizing I did for the various motifs of Like the Stars.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

Leave a Reply

