Yarn duet

My quilting group went on a field trip to Black Mountain last year. The destination was a local quilt shop, but we noticed a yarn store around the corner. If you’re a knitter, you know the feeling of walking into a new world of wonderful yarns and fibers that all require close examination and the touch test. Of course, this can take hours and hours. This particular store and numerous isles as well as walls full of their precious product.

Well, when my group had completed their tour, I had only reached isle two! All this to say, I love yarns and fibers and the synergy they produce when combined. Maybe it’s the surprise effect that unfolds as I knit those first few rows.

Scarf 3 Colors

Over the weekend, I combined a thick blue chenille with a variegated eyelash. The eyelash contained three colors: red, blue, and golden yellow. When I measured the length of the individual colors, I was surprised to find that they were approximately 160 inches long. That accounts for the nice wide bands of color in this scarf. I may knit another scarf using red chenille with the same eyelash and see what happens.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

1 Comment

  1. Wanda said,

    August 3, 2009 at 2:59 am

    Hi , Beautiful work , my lovley ik like ,
    thanks,
    warm greetings, Wanda


Leave a Reply

