Quilts – Like the Stars

In 2006 I was commissioned to design a quilt based on the book of Daniel (from the Bible). I read through the book several times before making any design decisions. If you’re not familiar with Daniel, it’s a book full of dreams and visions. Two themes or motifs stood out to me: seas and stars. Naturally, Storm at Sea came to mind since the pattern captures both of these motifs.

Like the Stars

After making the decision to go with Storm at Sea, I turned my thoughts to a name for the quilt. Sometimes a name comes later in the process, but this was a comprehensive project, and I believed that a name would add cohesiveness to all facets of the quilt’s construction.

Daniel 12:3 not only reflected so much of the book’s message but also fit perfectly with all the layers of meaning this quilt would possess.

Those who have insight will shine brightly, like the brightness of the expanse of heaven, and those who lead the many to righteousness, like the stars forever and ever.

With title and pattern decisions behind me, Like the Stars began to take life digitally (EQ5) as I experimented with color placement. Then the fun began as stacks of fabric from each color family took over every surface in my studio. Little by little the piles shrank as I auditioned one color after another, moving them here and there to see how they worked with their neighbors. Storm at Sea projects movement; Like the Stars enhanced this feature by adding lights and shadows.

In my next entry, I”ll share with you my method for doing photo transfer work, which was a main design element in Like the Stars.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

Leave a Reply

