Beginnings

My mother put a needle in my hand when I was six years old. I loved taking her scraps and constructing doll clothes (at least in my mind that’s what they were) and mixing together all those wonderful colors and textures. The sewing machine was off limits owing to my parents fear that I would sew my fingers together or some such thing. By fourth grade, I just couldn’t take it anymore. I figured that if I showed them I could sew without incident, they would let me go at it. So, I cut out a wrap-around skirt, set myself in front of my mother’s Necchi, and the rest is history. My parents were so impressed that they never restricted me again from what would become a lifelong passion.

Although reading often competed with my love of sewing (I consumed Nancy Drew Mystery Stories like there was no tomorrow), I made time for both and continued honing my skills little by little.

When I was sixteen, my mother presented me with a new Singer sewing machine for Christmas. You could have knocked me over with a feather! I can’t tell you how much I loved that machine. Compared to my mother’s old Nechhi, it was state of the art. It’s one of those memories I will always hold dear. I only wish I had a picture of it, but I don’t think one was every taken.

Happily, the Singer was not to be the only sewing machine I received as a gift. Advancing a couple of decades, my husband presented me with a new Bernina 1230 for one of those milestone birthdays that come every ten years. The 1230 marked my initiation into the world of quilting. Anyone who has owned a Bernina 1230 knows how special this machine is. Every owner I talk with says the same thing: they’ll never part with it. I’ve only had one repair done on it in fifteen years, and it continues to operate as it did right out of the box. Of course, it’s not an only child any more, but that’s a subject for another time.

First Quilt - Spool Pattern

I chose the spool pattern for my first quilt to commemorate the special gift

I had received. It proudly hangs on a wall in our guest bedroom.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West
Time Treasured

Leave a Reply

